Picasso’s Blue Period portraits

Pablo Picasso: Portrait of Jaime Sabartes. 1901, oil on canvas, 46 x 38 cm

I recently read that during Picasso’s long life he made ON AVERAGE (!) 1.5 artworks a day, and there must have been days he didn’t do any – like when he was sick. I am still very impressed by this, as my output is pretty meager, even if I just look at the quantity and I won’t even speak of quality.

I have always loved the Blue and Rose Periods of Picasso, since I saw some of his pictures in the Pushkin Museum in Moscow. I am sure the portrait below (The Bock) was there too in 2000, because I remember it was one of the reasons for me to keep coming back there during my semester in Moscow. I find it wonderfully melancholic.

Pablo Picasso: Portrait of Jaime Sabartes (The bock), 1901, 82 x 66 cm

The styles of the 5 pictures here (3 from 1901, one from 1903 and one from 1904) differ a lot.

We got one resembling the flat illustrative style of Toulouse-Lautrec, one flat one with strong outlines, Mateu is painted with lots of colour shading  and outlines – reminiscent of Cezanne – and 3 years later a subtly shaded portrait of Suzanne Bloch has lost all the sharp outlines.

Portrait of Mateu Fernandez de Soto, 1901, 45 x 37 cm

The Absinthe Drinker (Portrait of Angel Fernandez de Soto), 1903

Picasso: Portrait of Suzanne Bloch, 1904

Leave a Reply

