IV: Clothed figure: Form and movement

Clothed figure (hatching)

Clothed figure (ink + hatching, ink wash)

Seeing Rembrandt’s self portrait with the strong and vivid hatching on my wall I thought I should try hatching fabric/clothed bodies, since I am really not good at that and I should train more. So this was last night’s training session in front of the telly.

I made this picture from a picture made before 1910 found on Flickr Commons. I have this morbid obsession with old photographs – thinking that all these children and young people depicted in 1910 are long withered and dead now. Some of them look really fresh and alive. My head says “so what” but my heart seems unable to comprehend. I keep stumbling over the fact they are dead and look at us so freshly, preserved for eternity as if my vinyl has a crack. It may have. My favourite of all these old pictures is this one here:

Woman and boy (Portrait de femme assise serrant un enfant dans ses bras, en intérieur) between 1859-1910.

Woman and boy (Portrait de femme assise serrant un enfant dans ses bras, en intérieur) between 1859-1910. Source

It is so delightful and funny, I wonder if they thought they had wasted a precious glass negative for a not-posed picture or if they were equally delighted about this snapshot – and yet – can you actually imagine that they are dead? This little mischievous boy who only just fooled around with his mum there, with her touching his hand ternderly, now long gone?

Leave a Reply

